L’oreal EverSleek Sulfate-Free Smoothing System Intense Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner

2013-10-12 15.18.15What a mouthful for the name of a shampoo. Anyhow, I was so excited when I finally saw this in Watson at Orchard Ion a month ago. Quickly got hold of it and switched to this immediately.

I would really want to like it since it is way more affordable as compared to other sulfate-free shampoos. But it is really quite a disappointment. The reason for me to switch to a sulfate-free shampoo was cos of the irritation that my scalp was having. Just as my face are sensitive to sulfate, I believe that my scalp are too. But after using this shampoo for a few weeks now, my scalp started to itch again after the second week of use.

2013-10-12 15.19.48

As it is a sulfate-free shampoo, it definitely wasn’t the presence of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) or Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) that was causing the itch. So what? I am not too sure too. I tried to rinse much longer under water after using the shampoo and it seemed to not itch much today. So I am not sure is it due to this. I will continue to observe.

On the other hand, the shampoo smells really good and it lathers very well too! So why does it lather so well since there isn’t the harmful SLS and SLES? In replacement of the usual SLS or SLES is SLSA – Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate. This ingredient is safe and especially kind to sensitive skin. Because of the bigger molecule size, it does not penetrate the skin and thus does not cause the irritation like SLS or SLES. But why do I still feel itchy on my scalp? That is the mystery I will have to solve.

The conditioner truly lives up to its name as “Eversleek”. I used a slight bit more the first time and it caused my hair to be overly sleek and flat. So I actually find it hard to use for my type of hair, which is dry and frizzy but with scalp that is oily. So now I use very little only on the ends of my hair. And my hair still remains very much frizzy for hair that are shorter.

Under the same line of Sulfate-free shampoos, there are other types, and after I use this up, I may try another type, after all, it is rather affordable.

Leave a Reply

