Laura Mercier Foundation Primer – Oil Free

2013-10-14 17.19.39 copy

Got this oil-free primer at Sephora at SGD55. A few dollars cheaper than the primer I got from Lancome and Smashbox.

IMG_3017
Pea-size of the primer
IMG_3018
How the primer look when spread out

The oil-free primer looks and feels more like a lotion. The texture is rather different from the other 2 oil-free primers that I have from Lancome and Smashbox. Because of the texture, it seems to take longer to set before I could apply my foundaton.

It is easy to spread on the skin but I find it difficult to determine the right amount to use cos of the texture of the product. Till now, I am still unsure how to get it to work cos it isn’t working very well for me.

I don’t think that the primer helped with reducing the appearance of pores either.

I tried to use this primer before I used 3 different liquid foundations (of cos on 3 different days) but for all 3 it was terrible. I looked bad. The foundation seemed to wear off just after 4 hours (or less) and thus, giving me a worn-out look.

After a few days of trying out the primer, I switched to Smashbox primer and used one of the foundations and I looked great for the whole day.  My face started to be a little oily only after 7-8 hours. I didn’t have to re-apply powder or blush at all for the whole day I was out, which was about 11 hours. Smashbox oil-free primer is still my f.a.v.o.u.r.i.t.e. 🙂

The next day, I switched back to Laura Mercier Foundation Oil Free Primer and I looked terrible again. My foundation looked blotchy after just 4 hours. Face was rather oily just 2 hours after application. It has been rather disappointing product so far.

Somehow, I am going to keep trying to get this to work for me. Surely, Laura Mercier product shouldn’t be this bad… But of course, I feel more on the fact that I have spent the money on it and I just do not want to keep it as a memoir… Wish me luck on this one!

4 comments

    • I have not tried the regular one so I am clueless how the regular one feels. But I was a little surprised by the texture of this oil-free primer.

Leave a Reply

