VDL Lumilayer Primer & Perfecting Last Foundation

2013-10-23 13.40.46 copy

Went to VDL at Suntec after a lunch appointment the other day and just wanted to take a look at the stuff there. Apparently, the staff that attended to me was rather friendly and has an expensive name, Chanel. According to her, VDL Lumilayer Primer is the signature or iconic product of the brand.

I took it home and tried over the last few days.

IMG_3140

The primer looks rather pearly glittery. Quite scary to think that it’s going onto the face. In fact, I did asked the VDL staff if I am going to look too glittery. I don’t want to walk around looking like a disco ball, you know… Of course, the staff said no… But I didn’t quite trust that so I chose a day that I was just going out for a while to test out the primer.

To my surprise, the primer goes on quite natural though it did give me a gloss look. I applied quite generously as too much spilled out from the sachet of sample but it still didn’t look too glittery on my face. I couldn’t actually see the glitters after application.

Next, I applied the VDL Perfecting Last Foundation.

IMG_3143 copy

Hee. I squeezed out too much. Anyway, that was far more than enough to cover my face with foundation. Texture of the foundation went on very easily and gave me the feeling of applying a foundation mousse. It looked a little messy on my face actually. The foundation looked rather streaky. I seldom set my foundation with powder but for this foundation setting it with powder is a must.

It is more of a yellow tone foundation. My face is fairer than my neck. So applying this foundation on my face match my neck’s colour and thus, the overall look was good. I took a photo and I thought I looked quite good with the foundation. So I guess this might be good if you are expecting to take many photos for say… 2 hours?

First Time with VDL Primer and foundation

However, after just about 2 hours, oil started surfacing on my foundation. My foundation was almost going to slide. Throughout the day, I had to blot my face with tissue many times and even had to touch up with powder. I hadn’t done that in a long while since I started using Dr. Ci Labo BB Perfect Cream White 377+.

I tried the foundation with my favourite Smashbox oil-free primer and it was much better but still, I had to set my face with powder and by afternoon I had to blot my face with tissue once and touch up a little with powder.

I also tried the VDL Lumilayer Primer with Lancome Mat Miracle and Lancome Maqui Blanc Miracle as well. Both times, oil surfaced after about 4 hours. Better than when I used the VDL Perfecting Last Foundation.

I gave the VDL Lumilayer Primer and Perfecting Last Foundation another shot and I concluded that they don’t work for my combination skin. Oil broke through and caused my foundation to slide. I looked super oily. I don’t like the streaky and thick look of the foundation. After oil broke through the look was even worse.

WIth VDL Primer & Foundation 2
The look immediately after application

So I won’t be buying the full size products for these. It is really always a wise choice to get sample and try it out before making any purchase.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

