Jacqueline Burchell Nail Lacquer

IMG_3113

I first got to know this brand, Jacqueline Burchell, when I got a 5ml nail lacquer in a Bellabox. What caught my attention when I first read the introduction of this brand was that it’s researched and developed in Singapore! I am rather supportive of local products as long as they are produced with certain standards and pride.

Another thing that I like about their products is that they are made free from nasty chemicals such as Toluene, Formaldehyde and Dibutyl Phthalate! I love that idea especially when I have a baby that might just lick my fingers before I could stop her. Thumbs up!

2013-11-23 15.53.50After reading up a little on their website, I quickly went ahead to try the nail lacquer (and purchase a Autmun set). First impression: Good pigmentation. Have you ever tried polishes that need a few coats before it could properly cover your nail? Very irritating, right? So I was rather impressed with the pigmentation of this polish when it first went on. If I put on a thicker first coat, one coat is actually sufficient. But I also could do 2 thin coats and it is good too!

Then I realised that the coats dried pretty fast! Whether it was the thick coat or the thin ones, the polish dried relatively faster than my other polishes. From first base coat to the last top coat, my nails are all good to go within 30min! Very impressive. Another interesting thing that I noticed was that the coats dried rather thin even if I had 1 base coat, 2 colour coats and 1 top coat. But maybe because of this, the nail polish also chip more easily. So to seal the edge of the nails with the nail polish is vital if you do not want the nail polish to chip off that quickly.

2013-11-23 15.54.37

I also suspect that the top coat is under-performing and contributes to the reason for the polish for chipping so easily. After the top coat dried, I could still feel the graininess of my glitter polish beneath the top coat. :S

Overall, I still love the polish lots! They have great variety of colours. Their tagline: Life should be more colourful. ;P

One comment

Leave a Reply

