My top beauty picks for the year 2013

A year is over that soon! Since it’s the first day of the year 2014, I share do some reflecting on the top beauty stuff that I had tried in 2013. So here it goes!

1. SK-II Facial Treatment Cleanser

FTGCI have not used a facial cleanser that foams for a long while cos my skin is rather sensitive and easily irritated by most foaming cleanser cos of the ingredients like SLS and SLES. I just happened to think that maybe I can try this and bamm, I just love this cos it does not irritate my skin and yet it foams! 😀 You can read my post “Whats’s that in your cleanser?” and my review on the SK-II Facial Treatment Gentle Cleanser that I had previously posted.

2. SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

FTE

This thing is really amazing. You can read my review here. I just hope that the 215ml of essence can last me forever and then it would be really worth it. 😛

3. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

DDMG

This has been something I wanted to try cos I see it everywhere that people saying how awesome the Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion is. But the gel version would be more suitable for my oily skin instead. Got my first bottle as a birthday gift and I just fell in love with this moisturizer. Seriously, it’s worth trying. You can read my review here.

4. Dr. Ci:Labo BB Perfect Cream White 377+

Dr CiLabo

I thought I will never be able to find a BB cream that is suitable for my skin until I used this. Most of the working days, I use this and it always makes me look good for a whole day without even the need to touch-up most of the time. I am not sure if I am attributing too much to this little tube of BB cream to say this… In the first 2 weeks of using this everyday, I noticed that some of the pigmentation lighten and there was a particular one that actually peeled off! Hmmm… Anyhow, I recommend this to anyone that would like to try a really good BB cream and not just one that is hyped up by marketing. You can read my review of it here.

5. Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner (Black)

Stila

I just realise that I had never written a review on it! How strange cos I thought I wrote it… Anyhow, this the best black eyeliner I have tried thus far. It is such a good black eyeliner. But this is not an eyeliner to draw skinny line on the eyelids. It is BLACK and it stays all day. This would be very suitable for dramatic look or bolder looks that you want to spot. It costs SGD28 and I got mine from Sephora.

6. K-Palette 1-Day Tattoo Real Lasting Eyeliner (Brown)

24hr tatoo

Another eyeliner, cos I think both Stila and this K-Palette ones are such good finds in 2013. So I decided to pick both since they are in 2 different colours. Ha! This K-Palette eyeliner is the one I used almost everyday as I wanted a more natural look on a daily basis. It is really like a 1-day tattoo. You would need a eye make-up removal to thoroughly remove it. You may read my review here.

7. Lancome Dolly Eyes Waterproof Mascara

Doll Eyes

I bought at the beginning of 2013. It was such a splurge on a mascara. But this splurge has proven to be a good one. I have lots of mascara, both expensive and cheaper ones, all smudge quite a bit on my oily eyelids usually in less than 3 hours of application. But this Lancome Dolly Eyes Waterproof Mascara can hold it for about 6 hours on the average before it smudge just a little on my lower lids. Because it’s expensive, I use this only for special days or on days when I need to be out for long. I can’t believe that I didn’t review this one in any of my post too!

8. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick

Relvon

I actually couldn’t quite decide to pick this or Lancome Rouge lipstick as my top lipstick of the year. But ultimately I picked this because for the much cheaper price, the satisfaction level was higher! The color is the exact colour that I have been trying to find and in the right matte or semi-matte finish. It doesn’t dry out my lips as well. NO REVIEW AGAIN? Hmmm… I shall think about putting it up soon.

9. Fresh Sugar Petal Tinted Lip Treatment Sunscreen SPF15

image

Love this moisturizing lip balm. I got it in the most popular colour, Petal. I am thinking of getting the other very popular colour, Rose, but is still considering as the lip balm costs SGD29. You may read my review of it here.

10. Jacqueline Burchell Nail Lacquer

IMG_3114

This is the fastest drying nail polish I have used. It’s easy to use and doesn’t cost a bomb. Whenever, I feel I needed to spice up my boring black dressing, I would just spend 20-30min changing the nail colour and viola! I’m ready to go out with a different “feel”. You can read my review here.

Many other categories like the best blush, brow product, eye shadows, etc, are not mentioned as I have not tried any in these categories that I really liked.  So, hopefully, I will find them this year! But I seriously have to think about all the good stuff that I have found and tried and have not blogged about.

Have an awesome 2014!!! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

