Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

Smashbox Primer-1

This foundation primer did not indicate that it is oil-free and the sales assistant at Sephora Ion also couldn’t be sure if it was oil-free or not, though he did decided to tell me that it isn’t oil-free in the end. He assured me that at most the T-zone will be a little oiler. So after using this primer, what do I think?

Ok. It wasn’t actually much oiler on my T-zone as compared to using my other foundation primers. The main specialty of this primer is the colour correcting property. I have lots of redness on the side of my face due to scarring from previous acnes and my face is also rather sensitive so I flush as soon as I laugh or some times just by smiling. And I chose this green one to cover the redness. The first time when I used it was for a special event and there was flash photography. It turned out that my skin looked quite good on the photos taken which I was very delighted. πŸ™‚

Smashbox Primer-2The amount I used is just as shown on the picture above. It was good enough to cover my entire face, except for the eye area of course.

Smashbox Primer-3

The texture felt rather “oil-free” in fact and goes onto the skin non-oily. There is silicone (Dimethicone) in the ingredients, which most primers have, so I guess the texture has got to do with the amount of silicone in the primer as well. However, it still feels a little different from my other oil-free primers. It is a little creamier but not like the thick night-creams that you splatter on before bed nor is it like a lotion kind of texture. Just rather interesting.

What I really like about it is the fact that it helps to cover up the redness rather well for photography. I have not tried other brands of colour correcting primer so I can’t compare if this is better or not. But as a foundation primer, it holds the foundation rather decently. So yes, I do recommend this Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer. πŸ™‚

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. L’Oreal makes a pretty inexpensive color correcting primer that works really well. It’s more of a liquid than cream like the Smashbox, but in my opinion that just makes it easier to apply. I’m pretty sure it’s oil free, too.

    -Katie
    beautybycaitlin.com

Leave a Reply

